HD Talks

+tongtong, Toto Win Best of Show at 11th annual HD Awards

Posted by on June 4, 2015 in Events, Products, Projects

I’ve never met an awards show I didn’t immediately love. I’m the person who wins my Oscar pool every year though I haven’t seen any of the movies. I just love the pomp and circumstance, which explains why the HD Awards ceremony is one of my favorite of the year, and last night’s 11th annual event (sponsored by Durkan, Interiors from Spain, Garden on the Wall, Samuelson, HG Arts, Preciosa, Integra Fabrics, Kravet Contract, and Richloom Contract) exceeded expectations.

We take our awards seriously here at HD. Indeed, we had more project entries than ever before—560—and we introduced products this year, which saw more than 340 submissions. It was a good year to say the least, and made even better last night where we got to honor all of deserving winners and finalists and announce the Best of Show winners—our best kept secret.

Without further ado, here are last night’s big winners:


The Best of Show project winner: Drake Devonshire

With two wins for the property under its belt, the +tongtong-designed Drake Devonshire took home the projects best of show prize. The whimsical property on Lake Ontario embodies everything that hospitality does right when all the ingredients come together. Congrats to +tongtong and the rest of the team behind the project including architecture firm ERA Architects and owner Drake Hotel Properties.


John Tong and Anne Desrochers from +tongtong accept their Best of Show award.

In the products category, technology and sustainability proved unstoppable with Toto’s Helix M EcoPower Faucet taking home the best of show honor. The faucet impressed the products judges with its ability to power itself—a truly innovative and deserving winner.


Best of Show product winner: Toto’s Helix M EcoPower Faucet

Thanks again to all our judges—on the products side, Alicia Cannon, AJC Design; Meghann Day, HBA; and Stephanie Goto, STEPHANIEGOTO; and for projects, Dan Kwan, Wilson Associates; Katherine Lo, Langham Hospitality; Will Meyer, Meyer Davis Studio; Lionel Ohayon, ICRAVE; and Larry Traxler, Hilton Worldwide. They are who made the awards a true spectacle and another can’t-miss event. And a big congrats to all the winners and finalists!

Comments are closed.